9years ago tonight…#organdonationsaveslives

9years ago tonight I went to bed…

june 8, 2006 greeted me with a sunrise…it was a Thursday…

we were six…unprepared…

mom was at the rooms with my aunt and my dad was alone…

the phone rang…

our lives changed…

two years before nearly to the day my father was given a 50/50 chance of survival…”call the family in, there’s nothing we can do”…

9 words – my life fell apart…

fast forward 2years and there was hope…but with the hope came a sacrifice, a sacrifice from a stranger…

for them 9years ago tonight is a memory that brings heartache…

for us 9years ago tonight is a memory that brings a new start…

9…

tonight I think of the family that struggles to remember the last hand hold, the last kiss, the last words, the last smiles, the last touch…there’s a child with no father tonight to say good night…to kiss their cheek…to reminisce about the day…there’s a child tonight trying to forget 9years ago…there’s a wife with no husband tonight to say I love you to…to kiss good night…to share the stories of their children’s successes…there’s a wife tonight trying to keep her husband, the father of her children’s memory alive…for today was the day they decided to say “let’s let go”…

I think back over the last 9years and I think holy god, where did time go…and then as I sit back I think of all the people that have come in and out of our lives, the successes and failures, the deaths and the births…all my memories of the last 9years, he shared…the thought of a day without my father, makes my heart ache…I thought that day was in june 2004 and again in june 2006…

we make fun of him and tell him that every Friday I get a slight panic attack when the phone rings – see he always chose Fridays to get sick…and well june, june was always the month…so when the last Friday of every june comes and goes, I breathe a sigh of relief…onward to 10 I’ll say…

organ donation is a selfless act, I think I wrote last year that it is the most selfless act a person can do and I truly believe that…we talked about this the other night – mom, dad, my sister and brother in law…we talked about june 2004 and then june 2006 and I looked at my brother in law and said “yah, aren’t you glad you weren’t around those years”…#funtimesinthehoganhousehold

today we are 9…a brother in law and 2 little adorable nephews fills the house to 9…without that selfless act of a stranger and he’s family, those additions would never have gotten the chance to know and love the man I adore…the man who carries Larry the Liver as a trophy of gratitude…

to those waiting…my thoughts and prayers are with you…

to those deciding…talk to a recipient – listen to their words…

to those who don’t know what you’ll do…you will…

to those families who have lost family members and made that tough decision…thank you…

this is my story…it’s not over yet…keep reading…

389879_10152114977120694_1495576574_n-2

2 thoughts on “9years ago tonight…#organdonationsaveslives

  1. OMG, Danielle . My brother received a liver transplant 14 yrs ago . So I totally get what you are talking about . You are absolutely right . The most selfless act . Xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

